Out of Wonderland: Mundane Life

image
Enjoying my time as patient zero of zombie virus, The Thing.

image

 

 

 

So it’s been quiet around here apart from my cat ringing people. Ironically,  it is university holidays and the normal time for wild adventures (or a whole lot of study) and here I am at home with my virulent – and probably bacterial too – little friend I named “The Thing.” If it becomes a super virus, I want it dubbed “Catriona virus.” Also the O is silent because it’s a Celtic spelling of Katrina.

Anyways, I’m writing a brief post about what I’ve got planned coming up apart from Internet browsing on orca sociology at 3 am after running out of insomniac archaeology articles to read & post on Facebook then repost weird science like that freaky skinned dead eel with salt heated up (and taking my antibiotics, there’s a few).

Jana and I will be heading to the Bakery on O’Connell St in North Adelaide and eating cronut ice-cream cones as a public service. There will be pictures I hope since I eat like a Viking toddler! We have future shenanigans planned for the Guitar festival in July with Project Bad Reputation (mine) that need planning, just ignore our fedoras and trench coats.  Yes I tried to buy the Agent Carter one because I’m a fan girl. I’m also going to see Swan Lake by the Australian Ballet when they come to Adelaide in May so I might get to see Natasha Romanova! I’m also learning how to order a TARDIS birthday cake – chocolate of course. I’m really hoping I get a Time Lord jumping out of it.

Academically, in the next few weeks I’ll be doing some experimental archaeology (with newly minted archaeologist, Kate Riggs from Flinders) grinding different seeds, plants and nuts into flour that will be available for you to try at the SA Museum’s Night Lab event (I already have some acorn flour donated  by Shona!).  We hopefully have a practice session scheduled because I suspect there is skill to making good acacia seed flour than just running two stones over each other. Or just smashing nuts and berries…which we need to gather ourselves and I honestly have no idea where to start in nature.

Please come see Night Lab event on May 6th and drink cider, beer and wine, cos you don’t need no education but a museum at night and our company! Check out Eventbrite or the SAM website for tickets! I’ll finally put a post up on what it’s like to attend as a guest tomorrow in the morning about the other Night Lab events since I’ve been promising forever and it gets me out doing of the dishes in the morning!  I’m not a morning person but this will be fun since there was a photo booth to capture my evil deeds along with the volunteers!

In the meantime, I have to do some reading about why grind stones weren’t really used in this region of Australia which involves some ethnography and historical research. Anybody got some good ideas why?  They were valuable and carried across the contentment the ones on display at the SAM are made from sandstone and sparkle. They are beautiful.

With the demonstration, I’m thinking we probably will also have other things like rice-corn-wheat flour to compare the ground acacia seeds -which we still have to collect – along with some almonds and macadamias with the acacia and maybe chia that you’ll be able to smash into smithereens and marvel at the coolness of Stone Age technology from Indigenous Australia. We might even have a bit of ochre to make an even bigger mess!

After I get my assignment in tomorrow (there’s a bit o research in the second week of my mid semester holidays), I’ll be spending the afternoon finally getting all Night Lab pictures worthwhile up here to destroy my career as the face of what you shouldn’t do on an opal excavation for giggles.

~Clara Rose

 

 

Author: lonelyarchaeologist

I'm an archaeology grad student with an interest in gothic archaeology, tragedy tourism and dark sites. Most of my friends don't appreciate my interests so I've taken it into my own hands and I'm going I've established this blog to chronicle my solo adventures and hopefully give you a look behind the scenes at cultural heritage and the local arts.

Leave a Reply

