Rebuilding Rome: A life in ruins but hey we still have the plans for that fancy aqueduct and the soap…

My life as a background Slytherin in May 2017…

Where have I been and have I been on any adventures worthy of the Lonely Archaeologist? I did attend the Wizardfest Adelaide night at the Producer’s Exchange Hotel in May 2017 and I’m happy to report butterbeer was everything I’d imagined it could be and came with frothy cream and edible gold stars. I was also background Slytherin dancer on the disco floor but I’m proud to say that I did get Michael Jackson’s Thriller choreography down with Voldemort and the Death Eaters…

But largely, I’ve been living a life in ruins: academic, archaeological, personal and my dis/Abilities took me very very far from where I started when I first moved to Glenelg in 2016 and experienced the first freedom I’d had in years. The summer of Adelaide Fringe (2015-16) with my favourite artists, Ryan Adam Wells, Patrick Hercamp, the fabulous Anya Anastasia and Sound & Fury, was the first taste of being liberated from chaos and sorrow in a decade for me. Ryan in particular gave voice to my pain in Beers About Songs, gave me the strength to leave that past behind and freed me from the old shackles you carry when you’ve been abused. I’ll be reviewing it after some more therapy this year because it’s that sort of important epiphany! Darling Pat entertained me as only Pat can and rekindled my love of the Bard in Half Hour Hamlet. Anya gave this blog one of our first proper interviews and taught me that this was a tease, it wasn’t burlesque. Plus those red shoes, milady! 


These artists had opened the door to so much more than personal interest blogging for me, it got me involved in trying to support the local arts agenda and the larger arts productions because Adelaide does have the potential to be an artistic centre in the Southern Hemisphere all year around. We need to create small and medium venues to nurture local talent to bigger venues and Fringes such as Perth and Edinburgh. I’m excited to see what is coming under the production of Anya and Jennifer Kingwell this year! 

From Sapphire Snow, Viola Verve and Dulce Esperanza, I personally learned so much about body positivity, the arts of cabaret and burlesque (and boylesque). I learned I was perfect the way I am. Thank you, ladies for teaching me I was lovable and how to use glitter effectively. 
It even gave me the courage to unusual forms of local tourism – I got to try ghost hunting at the Old Gaol and a dark history tour at the Adelaide Arcade with the award winning tourist operation, Adelaide Haunted Horizons last year. I got done by the ghost sheriff…


 I reviewed some movies and television in my down time as a dis/Abled individual while being diagnosed with fibromyalgia when ghosts weren’t hand cuffing me at the Old Gaol in winter. 

  I had the time of my life at the SA Museum’s Night Lab event (where I meant the fabulous Tamara at Animals Anonymous!) and volunteered with 28 different kinds of flour…please don’t eat the demo damper! Like a hundred different people had touched it! 

But sometimes, you can’t plan for catastrophic events and in life, it all comes tumbling down around you unexpectedly and fast. The hoard of space junk crashes into the place you’d been laying out the plans for that shiny aqueduct that would make your Roman ancestors proud. I can say I honestly tried to publish a paper on queer archaeology and Doctor Who, attend Flinders university where my tourism Hawaii assignment attracted more than Maui’s attention into my personal life and then live a normal functioning life while the steaming pile burned away and polluted the air, then scorched the earth of my well laid plans.


I’m pretty sure I know how the dinosaurs felt after an asteroid impacted the earth (as the darkness filled the atmosphere and it got really really cold). I really was a broken archaeology student in January 2017 with a proximal radial fracture on my ulna to prove it along (with a broken heart, an investment in triple milled soap production and a whole lot of nausea when I smell rotting piles of trash). It was after yet the final disaster in my book of sorrows – that was the first half of this year (where you’ll see I reviewed ’13 Reasons Why’ off Netflix) because I was suicidal and making the case for why Hanna was wrong and that I had options in place of self annihilation. Why all this now? I was tired of living in fear, under a rock and having my freedom & safety in jeopardy. I’ve had to leave some things behind to ensure I’ll be fine but it has awakened my love of adventure, science communication and writing again. 
Because the blog is off hiatus, I woke up and worked out what I needed to do to love my city again and my next blog interview will be with a Spoken Word poet of great talent. This year I hope to do a focus on various local writing and poetry as an art form alongside the beginning of my archaeology research into accessible archaeology in semester 2. Thank you for the patience and let’s get this party started again!


Clara Rose Santilli, 2017
Initial photo property of Wizardfest Adelaide by Colin Peevy, 2017. Special acknowledgement of copyright (under fair use for review by Colin Peevy, 2017). 

All other photos bar initial shot, copyright Clara Santilli 2016 and 2017. 

Author: lonelyarchaeologist

I'm an archaeology grad student with an interest in gothic archaeology, tragedy tourism and dark sites. Most of my friends don't appreciate my interests so I've taken it into my own hands and I'm going I've established this blog to chronicle my solo adventures and hopefully give you a look behind the scenes at cultural heritage and the local arts.

Leave a Reply

